The institute was established as Regional Engineering College (REC) Rourkela on August 1961 under the Ministry of Odisha and its foundation stone was laid by the Prime Minister of India. It was granted autonomy and functional independence by the Ministry of Human Resource Development in 2002 thus becoming National Institute of Technology. The institute has 17 departments and the campus is situated in lush green environment. It is publicly funded institute of higher learning for engineering and technology located in the steel city of Rourkela, Odisha, India.

Developed by Adosys